#BOMSummer DAY 57, Alma 62-63: “That Book Is TRUE”

Alma 62-63,

Oliver Cowdery:

“My name is Cowdery—Oliver Cowdery. In the history of the Church I stood … in her councils. Not because I was better than other men was I called … to fill the purposes of God. He called me to a high and holy calling. I wrote with my own pen the entire Book of Mormon (save a few pages) as it fell from the lips of the Prophet Joseph Smith, and he translated it by the power and gift of God, by means of the Urim and Thummim, or as it is called by that book, ‘Holy Interpreter.’

“I beheld with my eyes and handled with my hands, the gold plates from which it was translated. … That book is true, Sidney Rigdon did not write it; Mr. Spaulding did not write it; I wrote it myself as it fell from the lips of the Prophet. It contains the everlasting gospel. … It contains principles of salvation; and if you, my hearers, will walk by its light and obey its precepts, you will be saved with an everlasting salvation in the kingdom of God on high.” (At a conference held in Kanesville on the 24th of October, 1848. Originally published in “Last Days of Oliver Cowdery,” Deseret News, Apr. 13, 1859, 48. See also, The Latter-day Saints’ Millennial Star, Vol. 27, pg. 57; Joseph Fielding Smith, The Restoration of All Things (1964), 113–14; Doctrine and Covenants and Church History Study Guide for Home-Study Seminary Students, 2013, Unit 5: Day 1, Doctrine and Covenants 17. For more information on the original recording of this testimony, see “Reuben Miller, Recorder of Oliver Cowdery’s Reaffirmations, BYU Studies, 1968, 8:3, 277-293.)

 

One thought on “#BOMSummer DAY 57, Alma 62-63: “That Book Is TRUE”

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS?

