#BOMSummer DAY 58, Helaman 1-3: “I Saw Them”

Helaman 1-3

David Whitmer

Joseph, Oliver Cowdery and myself were together, and the angel [Moroni] showed them [the plates] to us. . . . [We were] sitting on a log when we were overshadowed by a light more glorious than that of the sun. In the midst of this light, but a few feet from us, appeared a table upon which were many golden plates, also the sword of Laban and the directors. I saw them as plain as I see you now, and distinctly heard the voice of the Lord declaring that the records of the plates of the Book of Mormon were translated by the gift and power of God. (Cook, David Whitmer Interviews, 63. See also “Report of Elders Orson Pratt and Joseph F. Smith,” Millennial Star, Dec. 9, 1878, 771–72.)

One thought on “#BOMSummer DAY 58, Helaman 1-3: “I Saw Them”

  1. The power of the word can lead us in the path of truth.
    Last night I read a letter from my Auntie.
    She explained that her dad my grandfather remarried in England after his 1st wife had died and then came to Australia.
    I had been searching for the second wife’s birth in Australia.

WHAT ARE YOUR THOUGHTS?

